Home Discussion Forums Preaching Who is a Gospel Preacher? Part One)

Tagged: 

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jack Exum Jr Jack Exum Jr 1 year, 8 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Jack Exum Jr
    Jack Exum Jr
    Participant

Jessee P. Sewel back in 1957 during his last series of public lessons capped off his lessons with the following statement.

“Who is a Gospel preacher? He is a man, but he is a man redeemed by grace through faith, standing in Christ’s stead, under His authority, and by His command, proclaiming His Gospel, making it plain, strong, and urgent in such a way that responsible man can believe it, and accept it unto life, or reject it unto death.”

1. “He is a man…” For now, this scribe will pass up the recent debates going on over women preaching. I’m still studying and will deal with that topic when I am ready. (One thing I will say is, I have noticed that when anyone suggests something which challenges long held beliefs or dares to act in deference to main stream thought we do not to seek time to study together, but we tend to immediately “write the person up.” Perhaps instead we need to re-study the matter, and if after studying and comparing thoughts, we come to the same conclusion which has been long held, we have lost nothing and gained the strength of reconsidering the matter and are stronger because of it!)

As for this study, I seriously doubt the author was thinking or considering the idea of gender as much as he is contemplating the fact that the preacher is “just a man.” Preachers are not “gods,” and just because we stand before others and speak about God and His Word does not elevate us to being infallible, or sinless. Unfortunately (as a friend recently said to me,) “unfortunately we expect more of the preacher.” Not only of the preacher, but his family as well. This makes it hard on the wife, the kids (PK), for preachers always have the feeling of living in a glass house.